About Kentisbeare
Cricket Club

Club Introduction

Kentisbeare CC was founded in 1885. For the first 100 years the club played a number of friendly fixtures against local sides, touring teams and representative sides, (including a regular fixture against Exeter City FC) as well as playing in Cup competitions. In 1965 the club won its first peice of silverware; The 'Tiverton Town CC Knockout Trophy'. In 1985 the club joined the East Devon League and started playing league cricket as well as continuing with friendly and cup fixtures. In 1988 The 'Whiteways Cup' was added to the trophy cabinet. A few years later the club entered a second team in the league as well.

2000 saw the club set up its Junior section, which has not only achieved great success, but continues to thrive. Several players have also gone on to represent Devon in age group squads as well as the full Devon side. In 2000 the Second X1 won Division 4 of the East Devon League, with the First X1 winning 'D Division East' in 2001. The First X1 weren't promoted however as promotion and relegation was suspended that year due to foot and mouth. In 2004 the Second X1 won their division promoting them into the county wide C Division, where they stayed for 3 years. The same year Kentisbeare played a Somerset X1 for the benefit season of Keith Parsons. Players included overseas star Jamie Cox, England international Ian Blackwell, former pros Jason Kerr, Matt Bulbeck and Peter Robinson, with England legends Marcus Trescothick and Andy Caddick watching. 2013 saw the club winning the 'Whiteways Cup' for a second time with the First X1 following up this success the following year with promotion from the E Division. 2018 saw the 1st X1 again promoted to D Division East. The club continues to grow through All Stars Cricket (ECB National Programme) where children as young as five can now play cricket at the club. As the club moves forwards improvements continue to be made to the ground and pavilion keeping Kentisbeare CC heading in the right direction’.

Looking to support your local team?

Become A Sponsor

Club Honours

1965 Tiverton Town CC Knockout Trophy Winners
1988 Whiteways Cup Winners
2000 East Devon Division 4 Winners (2nd X1)
2001 Devon League Division D East 1st X1 Winners
2004 Devon League Division D East 2nd X1 Winners
2013 Whiteways Cup Winners
Gary Chappell U11-U21, Full Devon side, Minor Counties Debut 2009 v Dorset
James Parkin U11s-U17s
Henry Parkin U11s-U17s
Will Squire U19-U21, Full Devon side, Minor Counties Debut 2013 v Cheshire
Josh Farley U10-U15 Currently
Jed Findlay U13
Joe Gillett U11
2001 U11 Pairs League Winners
2003 U15 Cup Winners
2004 U15 League Winners
2004 U15 Bob Bridges Cup Winners (County)
2004 U16 Bob Whitburn Cup Winners (County)
2004 U17 League Winners
2004 U17 Cup Winners
2006 U17 League Winners
2006 U17 Cup Winners
2008 U13 League Winners
2008 U13 Cup Winners
2009 U17 Cup Winners
2010 U17 League Winners
1988-89 Tony Howe
1990-93 Philip Chappell
1994-95 Nigel Gillett
1996-98 Philip Chappell
1999-00 Chris Gillett
2001-03 Dave Squire
2004 Gary Farley
2005-07 Tom Wilkinson
2008 Libby McCartney
2009-11 Michael Cooke
2012-16 Scott Chappell
2017- Tom Martin
1998 John Ridgeway
1999 Philip Chappell
2000 Gary Farley
2001-06 Philip Chappell
2007 Chris Gillett
2008 Alex Newman
2009 Andy Hazeldine
2010-12 Tom Wilkinson
2013-15 Tom Martin
2016-2018 Chris Gillett
2019- Philip Chappell
264* Mark Mbfana v North Devon 3rd X1 (2015)
191* Scott Chappell v Worthing Foresters (2013)
177* Steve Reed v Stoke Gabriel 2nd X1 (2006)
173 Rory Thomas v Kingswood (2013)
170* James Sprague v Tiverton & Bickleigh (1997)
165 Mark Mbfana v Upottery 2nd X1 (2015)
164* Steve Reed v Chardstock 1st X1 (2007)
157* Dave Reed v Upottery 2nd X1 (2000)
157 Scott Chappell v Culmstock 1st X1 (2016)
156 Chris Gillett v Whimple 1st X1 (1996)
154 Rory Thomas v Upottery 1st X1 (2016)
152 Rory Tatterton v 4 Counties (2017)
151 Paul Tatterton v Ottery St Mary 2nd X1 (2018)
1987 Nigel Gillett (1,058 runs)
1995 Chris Gillett (1,234 runs)
  Mark Shaw (1,050 runs)
  Nigel Gillett (1,007 runs)
1996 Chris Gillett (1,741 runs)
2000 Will Sprague (1,043 runs)
  Chris Gillett (1,007 runs)
2015 Mark Mbfana (1,103 runs)
2018 Paul Tatterton (1,301 runs)
9/24 Brian Heal v Heavitree (1971)
9/41 Philip Chappell v Exeter Civil Service (1987)
8/15 Dougie Pinn v Whimple (1969)
8/29 John Parkin v All Saints 1st X1 (1995)
19?? John Parkin (124 wickets)
19?? Ernie Lane (119 wickets)
1983 John Parkin (100 wickets)
1985 Philip Chappell (100 wickets)

Interested? Want To Find Out More?

Get In Touch

Thank you to all our Sponsors

We are always looking to add more sponsors. If you think this might be something you are interested in then please contact us for more information.

Match Ball Sponsors

© 2021 All Rights Reserved.